Just one more week…

Hello,

I’m Sophia. I’m a 23-year-old freelance writer/blogger/wannabe journalist and about six months ago I left my full-time office job to travel, work towards a career in writing and to put off growing up for as long as possible. I actually have another travel blog which has details of my trips to Australia, New Zealand, Germany, Mexico and Holland, but as this is quite a specific concept and a specific trip I thought I should also make a specific blog.

I’ve wanted to do a trip around Europe for months but for on reason or another kept putting it off, but it’s finally actually happening. Take a look at my (provisional) route.

travel

As you may have guessed from the title of this blog I am going to be travelling solely via buses and trains and I’m going to try not to catch a single plane. This is partly because coaches and trains are a lot cheaper, partly because I wanted to see how easy it would be to get somewhere like Romania or Bulgaria without having to go up in the air, partly to show people who are scared of planes that they can still travel fairly easily, but mostly it’s just because I actually like buses and the idea of spending 8+ hours on one doesn’t fill me with dread the same way spending 8+ hours on a plane does. That may sound weird as long distance flights normally have entertainment and food/drinks, but when you’re on a bus you actually get to see stuff. You get to see cities, houses and parts of the countryside you just wouldn’t see otherwise, and it’s way cheaper than driving.

This trip is going to last a month. Originally I wanted to be out for longer (around two months) but I’ve got to get back by the end of November for a family thing and I’ve put it off for so long that I just don’t have as much time now. I did want to go to Bulgaria to see the city of Sofia (as my name is Sophia it felt kinda important) and even head down to the top of Greece, but given the amount of time that would take it may not be possible.

I’m travelling alone, staying in hostels and trying to spend as little money as possible so this blog is going to be looking at solo travel, solo female travel, budget travel, hostels and transport as well as my musings, fears, joys, sorrows and impressions of all these amazing cities. I’m going to try to update this blog every day that I’m travelling and will be sure to add loads of lovely pictures so you can all live vicariously through me as you sit in your offices/houses/mansions.

If anyone has any travel tips, recommendations, advice or questions please feel free to drop me a comment below. If you want to keep up to date with my travels why not make me happy and become one of my first subscribers (as this is a new blog) and I’ll talk to you all soon. 🙂


2 thoughts on “Just one more week…

Leave a comment